Copy and Paste 4

Alright, so I didn’t update on Saturday or Sunday, but it’s because I’m so gosh dang lazy. Well, I owe you 6 updates, and 6 updates you shall receive.

Original

Legal Jargon: All characters and likenesses are property of Tim Buckley

So now we have Lucas locking Ethan in a closet for being crazy (i.e. wanting to invent his own holiday). Again, I didn’t read the archives so I can only assume that Ethan has a history of this. Either way, locking your roommate in a closet for trying to invent a holiday seems to be a bit of an overreaction.

Original

Legal Jargon: All characters and likenesses are property of Tim Buckley

I don’t think we needed a panel to establish that “Lucas is in the park”. This is a case (I assume), of Tim realizing that he MUST write a 4 panel comic and just not having enough material. A rarity to be sure, because he often has far, far to MUCH material, even for four panels.

BTW I hope that “Sappy mister clean ass” line wasn’t doing it for anyone, and now you think the strip sucks, because I certainly hated it.

Original

Legal Jargon: All characters and likenesses are property of Tim Buckley

So here we are at the end of winter-een-mas ’04. The original arc has Ethan acting like an ass, assaulting a child, then as if by MAGIC Winter-een-mas takes hold. In my version; Ethan acts like an ass, people are not interested in his holiday. Then he just promotes the idea of a “video game holiday” and it catches on. It’s not great storytelling, but it least it makes sense.

Original

Legal Jargon: All characters and likenesses are property of Tim Buckley

Firstly, I skipped the whole “Winter-een-mas tale”. It wasn’t a character piece or a poorly written joke, so just didn’t feel the need to re-write it.

Moving on, it’s my first Chief Brian strip! I’ve decided to change a lot about Brian, (the hat should be a dead give away to his occupation so now he’s just Brian.) Aside from the name change, I’ve turned him into a filler character (a lot of the fan/hatedom seems to think he is anyway).  However, instead of him spewing out random piles of random shit lines like “When performing gymnastics it is important to banana your waffle, you must smell eels like you would smell defeat in a sushi palace”, to just explaining why there isn’t a “proper” comic. His dialogue is one part B^Uckley’s Blog, one part excuse and apology, one part running observation of what is going on in the comic.

Original

Legal Jargon: All characters and likenesses are property of Tim Buckley

As I begin to establish my own “archive” of edits, I’m going to need to know what I want to do with these characters. My idea for the big 3 characters are as follows:

Ethan: Loveable oaf. Think Homer Simpson or Peter Griffen. However in stead of his current “I do whatever the fuck I like and everyone Loves me for some reason” status, I going try and dial him down a bit, and make an effort to show that everyone knows how stupid he is, but puts up with it because “hey, he’s my friend/boyfriend and he means well” Plus he’s going to be apologizing a LOT.

Liliah: I have two words for where I’m going to try and take Liliah; Marge Simpson. She puts up with Ethan because Ethan LOVES her. It’s important I grind that point home as much as I can, because without that, she has NO reason to stay with him.

Lucas: I’m not going to change a whole lot about Lucas. Again, having not read a whole lot of the archives, I don’t know if Lucas continues to abuse Ethan in response to his antics, but I hope he does. That way, he sort of turns into a monster, and it should be hilarious.

All other characters: I’m not sure yet, let’s just see where this goes.

Original

Legal Jargon: All characters and likenesses are property of Tim Buckley

Well, now we’ve come full circle. I’m back to cutting extraneous dialogue, shifting panels, and pointing out where the punch line is.

I get the whole “hurr hurr booze is fun-ney hurr hurr” idea, but it seems out of place for a gaming comic. Now it’s “hurr hurr Ethan is teh stu-pid hurr hurr” I dunno. I think it works better this way. I’m probably wrong though.

~ by Tornadic on March 2, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
