Copy and Paste 3

Okay, so First things first. This is going to be a sizeable update. I want to get through all of the ’04 winter-een-mas noise so I can really start shaping my versions of CAD’s characters. Let’s get started shall we?

Original

Legal jargon: All characters and likenesses are property of Tim Buckley

God, I hate this strip. So many friggin words, I want to cut out a whole panel (or 2) but god DAMNIT! It’s all plot relevant. That last bit about Jesus could go, but then there’d be no punch line. ARRGHH! Well, Fuck it. Let’s keep this ass train a-movin’ shall we?

Original

Legal jargon: All characters and likenesses are property of Tim Buckley

Oh man, there are so many words in the original. Maybe I read it wrong, but what happened in that strip can best be summed up as “Ethan explains winter-een-mas, Customer is not interested, Ethan is frustrated”. This strip can still be summed up the same way, there’s just a lot less words now.

Original

Legal jargon: All characters and likenesses are property of Tim Buckley

First let me just say that I didn’t bother to read every strip in the archive. I got about 3 months into his first year and just gave up. So I don’t know what the deal is, but I have no idea why Ethan hates that penguin so much. Anyway, I just sliced off a huge chunk if words about using a melon to kill a penguin. It sounds funnier than it is. Read the original if you don’t believe me.

I do find it peculiar that even though Ethan isn’t moving in panels 2-4 he seems to shift wildly about the room.

Original

Legal jargon: All characters and likenesses are property of Tim Buckley

So we’ve go some text removal, and some panel shifts, nothing really notable. I did remove Ethan’s lines from this one though. It’s surprising how much people talk in this comic; seriously you know how hard it is to just find someone with a closed mouth?

Fun Fact: I made Ethan’s closed mouth expression by taking his “suspicious face” and elongating it.

Original

Legal jargon: All characters and likenesses are property of Tim Buckley

Ahh now I’m finally getting into some real edits. Not just trimming dialogue and streamlining comics, now I’m changing what happens! Bwahahahahahahaha!

Anyway, Firstly I removed the whole “I am the greatest, look how awesome I am” crap from the first panel. I do like the idea of “The King of Winter-een-mas” it makes me think of Santa Claus. even if winter-een-mas is a stupid idea.

Besides, who am I do judge? That little girl really likes the idea of a video game based holiday. I’m glad Ethan isn’t going to assault a child now.  Oh boy! That mall security guard really startled him! I wonder if he’s keen on the idea of a video game based holiday. What will happen as a result of Ethan’s trip to the mall? Find out Tomorrow!

~ by Tornadic on February 27, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
